Oregon Concealed Handgun Lecture Course
The Oregon Concealed Handgun Lecture Course is a comprehensive look at what is involved with carrying a concealed handgun. Information is outlined by the National Rifle Association (NRA), Oregon Department of Public Safety Standards and Training (DPSST), and Utah Bureau of Criminal Investigation (BCI). This class is about 4 1/2 hours long depending on the number of students. The Concealed Handgun Lecture Course gives students the ability to apply for the Oregon, Arizona, Florida, and Utah Concealed Handgun Licenses (CHL). Upon finishing this course students will be provided with a certificate of completion which is required to apply for all of the above listed CHL licenses. All application packets are included for students to apply for the desired licenses. We also include reciprocity maps which outline which States will recognize each concealed handgun license that we offer. Classes are scheduled regularly on our training calendar. With advanced notice private classes can be set up for parties of 5 or more anywhere in the State of Oregon.
The Concealed Handgun Lecture Course covers a multitude of applicable topics starting with the 4 basic firearm safety rules and firearm etiquette. We then discuss the mindset associated with carrying a concealed handgun and potentially using deadly force. The course goes into great depth on the 5 main types of handguns that are on the market today. We teach how to load, unload, and operate them correctly. We explain how a cartridge is designed, different types of ammunition, and how to make the correct ammunition selection. Weapons maintenance and how to correctly build a cleaning kit is another topic taught. We also cover holster types, common concealment options, and accessories.
The legal section of this course goes into great depth on how you can legally and justifiably use force as it pertains to Oregon Revised Statutes and Utah Criminal Code. We cover how to properly interact with law enforcement and police dispatch. We address when contacting a lawyer is appropriate. This course explains where you can and where you should not carry your concealed handgun. Our instructors are always available to answer any questions students may have even after the initial course has been taken.
- Valid Form of Photo ID
Concealed Handgun Lecture Course
(optional Utah upgrade available for an additional $20)
RECENT STUDENT REVIEWS
“Very understandable, excellent teaching skills. Would recommend class to others.”
“Donovan did an outstanding presentation. He knew his subject material very well and presented it in a very professional manner. It was a pleasure and thank you.”
“Instructor was great, professional, enthusiastic, and had great energy towards all areas of subject.”