Utah Concealed Firearm Permit
The Utah Concealed Firearm Permit is recognized in the following states: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.
Utah is a shall issue State which means that the Bureau of Criminal Identification has 60 days from the time of application to issue the permit. The Utah Concealed Firearm Permit is issued to both residents and non-residents. Non-residents who live in a State that shares reciprocity with Utah must have a valid Concealed Firearms License from the State they reside in prior to submitting an application. The application requirements are the applicant be at least 21 years of age, have no felony convictions, and no misdemeanor convictions regarding crimes of violence or moral turpitude. Crimes involving use of controlled substances are also under this. Laws regarding use of force are covered under Title 76 Chapter 2 Section 405 of Utah Criminal Code.
Applications can be submitted by mail for non-residents after completing the Utah Concealed Firearm Course. The application fee is $51.00 made payable to the Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI). Permit renewal cost is $10.00 and can be done every 5 years online at the BCI website. BCI needs to be notified within 30 days of an address change either by phone or mail.
Applicants are required to provide a photo copy of a valid Driver’s License and Concealed Handgun License from the State of residency. Application, Fee’s, and a fingerprint card completed by a fingerprint technician also needs to be submitted. One 2”x2” passport photo with the applicants name printed on the back of the photo is required. Utah BCI Course and paperwork can be received by completing the Defensive Firearms Instruction Concealed Handgun Live Fire Course or Concealed Handgun Lecture Course. The Utah Course upgrade fee is $20.00 in addition to the Concealed Handgun Course fee.