Oregon DPSST Armed Security Course
The DPSST Armed Security Course is a 24 hour class, which is broken into three 8 hour days. The first two days of the class are lecture based. Topics include: firearm safety, ammunition, officer responsibilities, legal definitions, proper decision making, use of force, post shooting procedures, and decision making scenarios. We also go over the 5 main types of handguns and how they operate as well as how to properly clean and maintain your handgun. We also talk about holsters, magazine pouches and additional gear that is useful to have as an Armed Security Professional. At the end of the second day students will take a 30 question closed book test. We do require that students successfully pass the written test prior to moving to the range portion of the class. This is to ensure that all information was understood and retained prior to handling firearms. The third day starts on the range covering the cardinal safety rules and mindset. The hands on component starts with the fundamentals of marksmanship, drawing, reloading, and clearing weapons malfunctions. Prior to the live fire portion of the range students will take the DPSST Safe Gun Handling Assessment. Upon safely completing the handling assessment students will be able to move onto the live fire portion of the course. The live fire component covers shooting from numerous positions, all of which are part of the qualification course. Students then take the DPSST State Proficiency Qualification Course (PQC-1).
The DPSST Unarmed Security Course needs to be completed prior to submitting the DPSST Armed Security Application. Upon completion of this course students will be given a PS-1 application form. If the student is upgrading from the Unarmed to the Armed certification, we will provide a PS-23 upgrade form. The DPSST Armed Security Course also meets the state requirement for a firearms safety course to obtain an Oregon Concealed Handgun License. We will also provide the PS-6 training form, which can be used to obtain an Oregon CHL. If students are interested we will also cover the additional information that would be required to obtain a Utah Non-resident Concealed Firearm Permit (CFP) upgrade for an additional fee, which would give reciprocity in additional states.
-Semi-Auto Handgun with holster (No Revolvers)
-Two magazines and magazine pouch
-150+ rounds of handgun ammunition (Lead free for indoor range)
-Clothing adequate for weather and allows for movement (pants preferred)
-Lunch (refrigeration is unavailable. There is a market nearby for purchasing lunch)
-Sunscreen (weather dependant)
-Hat with visor
-Kneepads (if you have issues kneeling on the ground)
Firearm rental (which includes ammo) is available with advanced notice for an additional $80.00.
Utah Non-resident CFP upgrade is available for an additional $20.00
HR 218 annual qualification for retired law enforcement is available for an additional $20.00
DPSST Armed Security Course
RECENT STUDENT REVIEWS
“Enjoyed the high energy and interaction. I appreciated the clear, concise delivery. Found references useful for real-life situations.”
“As the manager of CJ Eateries LLC, I will be contacting Donovan Beard’s company for further training for our employees.”
“Instructor does not simply do this for a paycheck, he enjoys what he does and made class great because of it.”