The Oregon Concealed Handgun License (CHL) Safety Training course is approximately 4 hours and is conducted by the certified instructors at Defensive Firearms Instruction. Successful completion of the course provides you with the certificate required to apply for your Oregon CHL.
By Oregon law if you want to carry a firearm concealed upon your person, or concealed and readily accessible within a vehicle, you must have an Oregon CHL issued by your county Sheriff’s office. You must be at least 21 years of age, have proof of good character – including, but not limited to: No felony convictions, misdemeanor convictions for domestic violence, or active restraining orders, and demonstrate competence with a handgun. The Oregon CHL Safety Training meets the required educational requirements set by ORS 166.291 to apply. The information delivered in the safety course is cited from the National Rifle Association (NRA) and the Oregon Department of Public Safety Standards and Training (DPSST).
Oregon CHL is recognized in the following states: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, and Vermont.
It is the responsibility of all Oregon CHL holders to know and understand the applicable firearm laws of the states within which they plan to visit or venture.
Note: Oregon firearms safety courses do not require live fire exercises, so no firearm is needed for the course.
With advanced notice, local private training can be set up for parties of 7 or more at our training facility. Please contact us for more details.