Oregon DPSST Armed Security Certification

The Oregon DPSST Armed Security Certification course includes all requirements to become certified in the state of Oregon as an Armed Security Professional. The class is taught by an Oregon Department of Public Safety Standards and Training (DPSST) certified Private Security Firearms Instructor and consists of 24-hours of comprehensive training spread out over three (3) days consisting of 8 hours of training each day. The first two (2) days include in-depth classroom-based lectures, and the third day includes a range component.

You must first complete the Oregon DPSST Unarmed Security Certification course or be currently DPSST certified as an Unarmed Security Professional. Individuals certified as a Private Security Professional can renew their certification 180 days prior to their certification expiring through the Oregon DPSST Unarmed Security Certification Refresher course.

Certification is good for 2 years upon application acceptance, however an annual refresher and qualification is required every year.

(Day 1 & 2)

The first two (2) days consist of in-depth classroom-based lectures. At the end of the second day, students will take a 30 question closed book test. Students must successfully complete the two days of lecture and written test before they will be permitted to attend the range portion of the training.

Course Topics Include

  • Firearm safety
  • Handgun nomenclature
  • Ammunition types and selection
  • Weapons maintenance
  • Gear considerations
  • Officer responsibilities
  • Legal definitions
  • Proper decision making
  • Use of force
  • Interacting with Law Enforcement
  • Post shooting procedures
  • Decision-making scenarios


(Day 3)

The third day begins with a safety brief as well as going over the mindset and philosophies regarding the defensive use of handguns. The next segment of the course is focused on dry fire manipulations, followed by live fire manipulations:

Dry Fire Manipulations Include

  • Proper placement of gear
  • Loading/unloading and press checking
  • Drawing and holstering
  • After action response
  • Ready positions
  • Moving with a firearm in ready positions
  • Emergency reloads
  • Tactical reloads
  • Clearing malfunctions
  • Fundamentals of marksmanship
  • DPSST safe gun handling assessment

Live Fire Manipulations Include

  • 2 handed sighted slow fire (accuracy analysis)
  • single-handed firing dominant hand
  • single-handed firing non-dominant hand
  • shooting from kneeling positions
  • controlled pairs
  • close quarters un-sighted fire drills.
  • focused accuracy drills
  • shooting from behind cover

The culmination of the course is the Oregon DPSST PQC-1 Handgun Qualification Course. Each shooter has three (3) attempts to successfully pass the PQC-1 Handgun Qualification course. If for whatever reason, a shooter is unable to successfully pass the PQC-1 within acceptable scoring guidelines, they will need to reschedule a time to return for three (3) more attempts.


Important Course Information 

Upon completion of the Oregon DPSST Armed Security Certification course, each student will be provided all required paperwork to be submitted to DPSST’s Private Security Division. Each student must submit their application packet within 180 days of the completion of the course.

If an applicant is submitting both the Unarmed Security and Armed Security application to DPSST at the same time, they would submit the following paperwork:


If an applicant is already currently certified as an Unarmed Private Security Professional through DPSST and is adding the Armed Certification, they would submit the following paperwork:


Required Gear*

– Valid form of government issued Photo ID
– Notepad
– Pen
– Semi-automatic duty sized handgun chambered in .380 ACP, 9mm, .40 S&W, .45 Auto  (no revolvers)
– At least 2 magazines (if your magazine capacity is less than 6 rounds, bring 3 magazines)
– Holster and magazine pouch
– 250 rounds of handgun ammunition
– Belt and suitable clothing (range is outdoors, dress for the weather)
– Knee pads (optional)
– Sunscreen (weather dependent)
– Hat with visor
– Eye and ear protection

– Lunch, snacks, and drinks (refrigeration is unavailable. There is a market nearby for purchasing lunch)

*Rental equipment (firearm/ammunition/eye & ear protection) is available for an additional fee and with advanced notice.

Note: Do not bring any firearms or ammunition to the class/classroom until range day (Day 3).

On range day (Day 3), all firearms must be unloaded and in a case or holster upon arrival. All firearms will remain in their case or holster until specifically directed to be taken out under the guidance of a DFI instructor.


View upcoming Oregon DPSST Armed Security Certification courses

Cost $400.00