The Utah Concealed Firearm Permit (CFP) Safety Training course is approximately 4 hours and is conducted by the certified instructors at Defensive Firearms Instruction. Successful completion of the course provides you with the certificate required to apply for your Utah CFP.
By Utah law if you want to carry a firearm concealed upon your person, or concealed and readily accessible within a vehicle, you must have a Utah CPF issued by Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI). You must be at least 21 years of age, have proof of good character – including, but not limited to: No felony convictions, misdemeanor convictions for domestic violence, or active restraining orders, and demonstrate competence with a handgun. The Utah CFP Safety Training meets the required educational requirements set by Utah (BCI) .
There are some states that will only accept the Utah CFP so long as the permit holder is a resident of Utah. The following 31 states will recognize the permit holder as a non-Utah resident: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Montana, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, and Puerto Rico.
It is the responsibility of all Utah CFP holders to know and understand the applicable firearm laws of the states within which they plan to visit or venture.
Note: Utah firearms safety courses do not require live fire exercises, so no firearm is needed for the course.
With advanced notice, local private training can be set up for parties of 7 or more at our training facility. Please contact us for more details.