Oregon DPSST Armed Security Certification Refresher near Sweet Home
Enroll in the Oregon DPSST Armed Security Certification Refresher course to maintain your certification.
The Oregon DPSST Armed Security Certification Refresher course is required every year to remain certified. If your certification has lapsed within the last 90 days, you can take this course to renew your armed security certification. Every two years you must submit a renewal application and fees to DPSST. The course needs to be completed within the same month as expiration, 1 year prior to the expiration date. For the year in-between, the course is the same for your annual qualification. The training can be completed 180 days prior to the expiration date of your certification, and you only need to submit the PS-6 form documenting completion of the course.
The Oregon DPSST Armed Security Certification Refresher course is a 5-hour course. The range portion of the course starts with a safety brief and moves directly into the DPSST Safe Gun Handling assessment. Upon successful completion of the DPSST Safe Gun Handling assessment, individuals will have three (3) attempts to successfully pass the DPSST PQC-1 Handgun Qualification course within acceptable scoring guidelines.
Course Topics Include
- Firearm safety
- Handgun nomenclature
- Officer responsibilities
- Legal definitions
- Proper decision making
- Use of force
- Interacting with Law Enforcement
- Post shooting procedures
- Decision-making scenarios
Important Course Information
Upon completion of the Oregon DPSST Armed Security Certification Refresher course, if renewing the Armed Security Certification, students will be provided with the following:
- PS-21 Renewal Application
- PS-6 Affidavit of Instructor and Private Security Provider Testing Results documenting completion of the training.
- PS-27 Code of Ethics
- PS-23 Change of Information
- Nonrefundable state license fee of $78.00. THIS FEE IS SEPARATE FROM THE CLASS FEE AND MUST BE PAID DIRECTLY TO OREGON DPSST. Payment made out to “DPSST Private Security” can be made by Money Order, DPSST Credit Card Form, Cashier’s Check, or Business Check.
Upon completion of this course, if the individual is attending for their annual qualification, they will be provided with the following:
- PS-6 Training Affidavit (Affidavit of Instructor and Private Security Provider Testing Results) documenting completion of the training.
- PS-27 Code of Ethics
All students are required to sign up online in advance to reserve a seat in the class. For assistance signing up for any Defensive Firearms Instruction class, please contact us directly.
Payment for the course is required either in advance upon signing up online, or due by the first day of class. Defensive Firearms Instruction has the ability to accept the following methods of payment:
- Credit Card/Debit card
- Personal/Business check
- Money Order
Invoicing for companies can, with prior authorization, be done by contacting us.
Defensive Firearms Instruction is currently working with multiple organizations that can assist individuals with class and State Fee tuition costs. To inquire about eligibility, please visit your local county WorkSource office or Vocational Rehabilitation office.
Private courses are available with advance notice and are subject to increased class fees or minimum student enrollment. Contact us directly for availability and scheduling.
– Valid form of government issued Photo ID
– Semi-automatic duty sized handgun chambered in .380 ACP, 9mm, .40 S&W, .45 Auto (no revolvers)
– At least 2 magazines (if your magazine capacity is less than 6 rounds, bring 3 magazines)
– Holster and magazine pouch
– 100 rounds of handgun ammunition
– Belt and suitable clothing (range is outdoors, dress for the weather)
– Knee pads (optional)
– Sunscreen (weather dependent)
– Hat with visor
– Eye and ear protection
*Rental equipment (firearm/ammunition/ear & eye protection) is available with advanced notice.
Note: All firearms must be unloaded and in a case or holster upon arrival. All firearms will remain in their case or holster until specifically directed to be taken out under the guidance of a DFI instructor.